Hendrick Petrus Berlage

Dutch architect

H.P. Berlage is one of Holland's first modern architects. He was a student of Gotfried Semper, who not only taught him a renaissance style but, more importantly, also that the use of ornaments should not be a goal in itself. Later, the works of Viollet-le-Duc made him see that a historic style should not be copied when designing a modern building. As a result he started to look for a new style, a new way of creating unity in a building. He developed a rational style, using geometrical plans and geometrical shapes.

In a building by Berlage the construction used is always shown and often functions as a decoration. So for instance iron bars for strengthening the construction are included in the decoration without being covered up.

He demanded that the materials used should always show and should be used according to their nature. So for instance a straight piece of wood shouldn't be bent and oak shouldn't be made to look like ebony or mahogany.

Berlage isn't a functionalist because he didn't reject ornaments. He did however demand that they form an integral part of the design and are not just attached to it. For instance the sculptures on Berlage's buildings are always a part of the wall or the corner that they are set in.

His favourite building material was brick because it gives visual strength and mass to the walls. He even used it for the inner walls of private houses. In this way he reached a unity in the interior and exterior of his buildings. By using bands of differently coloured bricks as decoration he lessened the massiveness of such inner walls while at the same time enhancing their mutual correspondence.

Berlage also designed the furniture for his buildings. When designing furniture he applied the same demands on material and decoration as he did wen designing a building. The furniture was also sold at "Het Binnenhuis", a shop in Amsterdam which was founded by Berlage and J. van den Bosch. This shop plays a very important role in the history of the Nieuwe Kunst, the typpicaly Dutch version of Art Nouveau. A lot of leading artists made designs for it.

Berlage's rational style didn't result in unimaginative designs. This is very well illustrated by the ground plan for "St. Hubertus"(1914-1920), a house built for the Kroller-Müller family as a hunting resort. It is in the shape of antlers, which clearly has a relation to the function of the house and with the legend of St. Hubertus. The colors used in the rooms also reflect the legend. The house is entered through a dark hall and every following room is lighter than the previous one. In the legend St. Hubertus was a hunter who lived carelessly until a deer with a lighting cross between its antlers warned him for his way of life. As a result he was converted to a life of virtue. "From the darkness into the light" is a well-known theme in Art Nouveau.

The first building in which Berlage used his rational style is the "Beurs"(1898-1903) in Amsterdam. It is also his greatest achievment, because it is the culminating point of 19th century architecture as well as the strarting point of 20th century architecture in Holland. Both the architects of the functionalist movement "De Stijl", like Gerrit Rietveld and J.J.P. Oud, and the architects of the expressionist movement "Amsterdamse School", like Piet Kramer and Michel de Klerk used the "Beurs" as their starting point for their radical developments.

Berlage's work and ideals fit in well with the movement of renewal in architecture of the "Fin de Siecle". It can be compared with German Jugendstil, Austrian Sezession and the English Modern Movement. He was a great admirer of the American archtects Frank Lloyd Wright and Louis Sullivan. He was strongly opposed to the French and Belgian style of Art Nouveau. In it he saw the same errors of classicism but translated into different shapes.

Main buildings

This text about Berlage is due to Arend van Dam (arend@duttfks.tn.tudelft.nl)

©1993-2012 Frank Derville
Art Nouveau World Wide Logo (1444 octets) The Art-Nouveau-round-the-world server is dedicated to promote a better knowledge of the Art Nouveau period (1890-1914)

Hendrick Petrus Berlage

(1856-1934)
Architecte néerlandais

H.P. Berlage est un des premiers architectes modernes des Pays Bas. Il fut élève de Gotfried Semper, qui lui apprit non seulement à connaître le style rennaissance mais aussi, chose plus importante, que l'usage de l'ornement ne doit pas être un but en soi. Plus tard, les ouvrages de Viollet-le-Duc lui firent comprendre que les styles historiques ne devaient pas être copiés pour concevoir les bâtiments de son temps. Il commença à rechercher un nouveau style, une nouvelle façon de créer une unité dans un bâtiment. Il développa un style rationnel en utilisant des plans géométriques et des formes géométriques.

Dans les bâtiments de Berlage la structure est apparente et fonctionne souvent comme une décoration. Par exemple, les barres d'acier qui renforcent les murs sont laissées apparentes et servent de décoration.

Il plaidait pour des matériaux apparents et travaillés selon leur nature. Par exemple, une pièce de bois droite ne devait pas être pliée et du chêne ne devait pas être maquillé en ébène ou en mahogan.

Berlage ne peut pourtant pas être classé parmis les fonctionnalistes car il ne rejettait pas l'ornement. Il demandait cependant que l'ornement fasse partie intégrante, indissociable, du bâtiment contrairement aux ornements plaqués n'importe où et n'importe comment. Les sculptures des bâtiments de Berlage sont inclues dans les murs et marquent souvent les coins.

Son matériau préféré était la brique car elle donne une force visuelle et de la masse aux murs. Il l'utilsa même pour le côté intérieur des murs de ses villas! De cette façon il atteignit une certaine unité entre intérieur et extérieur. Par l'utilisation de bandes de briques de différentes couleurs dans ses mûrs, il diminuait leur apparence massive et jouait sur des correspondances mutuelles.

Berlage a aussi conçu le mobilier de ses bâtiments. Il y appliqua les mêmes exigences sur les matériaux et sur la décoration que pour les bâtiments. Son mobilier était également vendu dans une boutique à Amsterdam qu'il fonda avec J. van den Bosch: "Het Binnenhuis". Cette boutique joua un grand rôle dans l'histoire du "Niewe Kunst", la déclinaison typiquement hollandaise de l'Art Nouveau. De nombreux artistes influents travaillèrent pour cette boutique.

Le style rationnaliste de Berlage n'a pas bridé son imagination créatrice. Le plan du pavillon de chasse "St. Hubertus"(1914-1920) construit pour la famille Kroller-Müller en est l'exemple. Il a la forme de bois de cerf, ce qui est clairement en relation avec la fonction de la maison et la légende de St Hubert. Les couleurs utilisées dans les pièces rappellent également la légende. On entre dans la maison par un hall obscur et au fur et à mesure que l'on passe de pièce en pièce, la luminosité augmente. Dans la légende, St Hubert était un chasseur qui vivait une vie de débauche jusqu'à ce qu'un cerf avec une croix rayonnante entre ses bois l'avertisse de sa mauvaise vie. Il se convertit alors et mena une vie exemplaire. "Des ténèbres à la lumière" est un thème souvent repris par l'Art Nouveau.

Le premier bâtiment pour lequel Berlage utilisa son style rationnaliste fut la bourse d'Amsterdam : "Beurs"(1898-1903). C'est aussi son plus grand chef d'oeuvre car c'est à la fois l'aboutissement de l'architecture hollandaise du XIXe et le point de départ de l'architecture du XXe. Tous les architectes modernes qu'ils soient du mouvement fonctionnaliste "De Stijl" (en français Le Style) comme Gerrit Rietveld et J.J.P. Oud ou du mouvement expressioniste "Amsterdamse School" (en français l'Ecole d'Amsterdam) comme Piet Kramer and Michel de Klerk revendiquèrent l'héritage de la "Beurs" comme point de départ de leurs développements pourtant opposés.

L'oeuvre de Berlage tout comme ses idées correspondent avec celles des mouvements de renouveau de l'architecture "Fin de Siecle". Elles peuvent être comparées au Jugendstil allemand, à la Secession autrichienne et aux mouvements modernes anglais. Berlage était un grand admirateur des architectes américains Frank Lloyd Wright et Louis Sullivan. Il était violemment opposé aux styles Art Nouveau français et belge Il y voyait les erreurs du classicisme mais traduites dans des formes différentes.

Principales oeuvres:

Ce texte sur Berlage a été écrit par Arend van Dam (arend@duttfks.tn.tudelft.nl) et traduit par F. Derville